Tampa Bay Sports Day

NHL: Lightning Drop Back-and-Forth Affair to Ottawa, 6-4

Photo Courtest Tampa Bay Lightning

Tampa Bay gave up four unanswered goals in the third period as they fell to Ottawa 6-4 on Saturday night.

Just as they did when the two teams met in Ottawa last Sunday, Tampa Bay fell behind by a pair of goals in the first period.

Matt Duchene and Bobby Ryan scored for the Senators less than three minutes apart early in the first period to give the visitors an early two-goal advantage.

But just like they did six days ago, the Bolts rallied.

Mathieu Joseph scored when his shot deflected off a Senators defender in front to send the Bolts to the locker room down a goal through 20 minutes.

Tampa Bay then really hit its stride with three goals in the second period.

Victor Hedman got it started, skating end-to-end to score a power play goal in his first game back from injury. Braydon Coburn scored on a seeing-eye shot from the point to give the Bolts the lead and Joseph recorded the first multi-goal game of his NHL career with his second of the night.

That’s where all the good ended for the Bolts as the Sens blew past Tampa Bay with a strong third period.

Ottawa cut the lead to one on a Brady Tkachuk goal 50 seconds into the final frame. The Senators then equalized and took the lead with a pair of goals less than two minutes apart. Mark Stone put the game away with a power play goal with only 12 seconds remaining in regulation.

The Lightning had their four-game win streak snapped in the loss and now head out on a four-game road trip that begins on Tuesday in Buffalo

Scoring Summary
1st Period
OTT | 4:58 Matt Duchene (6) – Colin White
OTT | 7:21 Bobby Ryan (5) – Cody Ceci
TBL | 8:49 Mathieu Joseph (3) – Mikhail Sergachev, Braydon Coburn

2nd Period
TBL | 0:39 (PPG) Victor Hedman (3) – Andrei Vasilevskiy
TBL | 9:15 Braydon Coburn (3) – Alex Killorn, Mathieu Joseph
TBL | 14:32 Mathieu Joseph (4) – Alex Killorn, Anthony Cirelli

3rd Period
OTT | 0:50 Brady Tkachuck (4) – Unassisted
OTT | 8:41 (PPG) Brady Tkachuk (5) – Bobby Ryan, Colin White
OTT | 10:30 Ryan Dzingel (8) – Matt Duchene
OTT | 19:48 (PPG) Mark Stone (7) – Bobby Ryan