Tampa Bay Sports Day

LOOKING BACK: How Jason Day won THE PLAYERS Championship in 2016

After holding sole possession of the lead after each round, Jason Day won 2016 THE PLAYERS Championship by four strokes.

It marked his 10th career PGA TOUR title in his 181st professional start at the age of 28 years, 6 months, 3 days. Day became the fifth player since 1980 to win 10 or more times on the PGA TOUR before his 29th birthday, joining Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Phil Mickelson and David Duval.

Day became the third different player to win THE PLAYERS while ranked No. 1 in the Official World Golf Ranking: Greg Norman (1994), Tiger Woods (2001 and 2013) and Jason Day (2016).

With wire-to-wire wins (no ties) at the 2016 Arnold Palmer Invitational presented by MasterCard and THE PLAYERS Championship 2016, Day joined Tiger Woods (2000, 2002), Tom Watson (1980) and Johnny Miller (1974) as players to win wire-to-wire twice in the same season dating to 1970. Mackenzie Hughes (The RSM Classic) and Justin Thomas (Sony Open in Hawaii) are the only wire-to-wire winners this season.

Day became the fifth wire-to-wire winner of THE PLAYERS, and first since Hal Sutton in 2000.

Day tied the Stadium Course 18-hole course record with 9-under 63 in the opening round last year. Colt Knost matched that record in the second round. Martin Kaymer, Fred Couples, Greg Norman and Roberto Castro are others who share the record.

In six appearances at THE PLAYERS, Day owns an additional top 10 (T6/2011), a T19 in 2013, and he missed the cut three times (2010, 2012, 2015).

Last year, Day played nine events in the season before coming to THE PLAYERS ranked No. 2 in the FedExCup standings. He won to move to No. 1. This season, Day ranks No. 99 in the FedExCup standings after nine events.
In eight starts this season, Day’s lone top-10 result is T5 at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am.

Day will attempt to improve on a record that currently belongs to fellow countryman Adam Scott. Scott, the champion in 2004, was the last PLAYERS champion to post a top-10 finish (T8) while attempting to successfully defend his title.

No player has ever successfully defended their title at THE PLAYERS Championship, with Nick Price’s fifth-place effort in 1994 the best finish for a defending champion.