Tampa Bay Sports Day

Stelogeannis Earns AVCA All-America First Team Distinction

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Continuing the tradition of excellence for the University of Tampa volleyball program, senior Allee Stelogeannis was named as the Spartan’s 30th American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-America First Team selection. UT leads Division II with 30 first team certificates with Concordia, St. Paul ranking second with 25.

Tampa leads Division II in AVCA All-America honors with 33 different student-athletes garnering All-America honors and 59 total certificates issued to Spartan volleyball players since the inception of the AVCA All-America teams.

Stelogeannis was a mainstay in the Spartan lineup throughout the season, representing one of the most versatile outside hitters in Division II. The senior averaged 4.07 kills per set and 3.50 digs per set, totaling 484 kills and 417 digs across 119 sets of play. The Ocala, Fla. native started all 32 matches and played in every set in her final collegiate season. The outside hitter added 56 total blocks and 29 service aces for 553 total points to lead Tampa to its 21st-consecutive NCAA South Region Tournament.

Exactly 15 of the athletes honored on the AVCA All-America teams in 2016 have received the award multiple times. Headlining this year’s selections is a pair of three-time honorees in Concordia-St. Paul’s Riley Hanson and Emma Lange.

Regionally, Sarah Ragland was the only other South Region selection to make the First Team while Natasha Fomina (North Alabama – Second Team), Kathryn Torre (West Florida – Second Team), Ally Rohn (Palm Beach Atlantic – Third Team) and Anna Tovo (Florida Southern – Third Team) were the only other All-America selections for the South Region.

The 2016 All-America selections were made by the AVCA Division II All-America Committee: Mario Andaya, Central Washington, chairperson; John Titus, Caldwell; Chris Green, Alaska-Anchorage; Laurie Lokash, Slippery Rock; Flip Piontek, Central Missouri; Wick Colchagoff, Findlay; Will Condon, Armstrong State; Sam Cibrone, Saint Leo; Jason Skoch, West Texas A&M.